Student Affairs Young Professionals
Student Affairs Young Professionals
The SAYP Committee is a representative group of Student Affairs departments.


The Student Affairs Young Professionals Committee was started to reach out to and promote the professional development of young professionals in the Division of Student Affairs at UMD.  Technically, this refers to full-time exempt employees who are under 35 years old and have worked at the University for 5 years or less.  We won't worry about semantics here - if you identify as a student affairs young professional, we welcome you!

Our group seeks to promote connections, community and professional and personal development among young student affairs educators at the University of Maryland.

Upcoming Events

SAYP coordinates a range of professional development opportunities and social events for the Division. To stay up to date, be sure to find SAYP on Facebook and sign up for the SAYP listserv to receive event invitations.



Student Affairs Skill Share (SASS)

What is the Student Affairs Skill Share?

The Student Affairs Skill Share, or SASS, is an opportunity to develop professionally, increase knowledge of and experience in a specific area, and gain a better understanding of the various roles within the Division. SASS is open to all exempt, regular staff, and especially newer professionals to participate as mentees. SAYP committee members facilitate this program by recruiting mentors, checking-in with participants, and helping work through any challenges that may arise. All participants must have their supervisor’s approval to be a part of the program. 

For more information about the program, email


Committee Members


  • Brittany Marxen, Resident Life
  • Sarah Grun, Adele H. Stamp Student Union


  • Daniel Hairfield, Resident Life
  • Emily Biery, University Health Center
  • Jaime Poynter, Student Conduct
  • Laura Bent, Campus Recreation Services
  • Lorae Bonamy, Fraternity & Sorority Life​
  • Marinel Martinez, Adele H. Stamp Student Union
  • Ray Nardella, Resident Life
  • Simone Livingston, Counseling Center
  • Tiffany Harris, Resident Life